A Day in the Life #1

Oh man I feel I’ve accomplished sooo much today. I actually went to class even though I seriously considered skipping. The evening has been spent planning and printing out tomorrow’s Kalevala spoof material. We’re gonna go to one of Joensuu’s schools to teach kids about the Finnish epic through art, games and drama. At least I’m getting a mark on my CV. The truth is I’ve got so much to do and so little time. First exam of the semester is next week and I’m totally under-prepared. My little brother’s confirmation party is on the 5th of March and I have no idea if I’m gonna make it cause I can’t miss any more Latin classes.

//side note: I’m all out of pesto and mozzarella

Anyway, what I really wanted to say here, is that I’m totally under-performing. Let’s have a moment of silence for all of my wasted potential. I feel like I have no passion for my studies and I’m just doing this cause there wasn’t anything I was particularly interested in when the applications had to be filled. I don’t wanna be an English teacher. I’m not very academic. I honestly don’t know what I was thinking when I applied. I was talking about this feeling with one of my friends, actually. We both feel like we’re not doing what we really want to and it just seems such a waste. It’s not like we’re gonna be 21 forever. Besides, Finland only gives out so many months of student allowance. I just wanna write and take pictures. I’m not that good with either but that’s what I like. I wanna just run with the ‘follow your dreams’ attitude but man, dreams cost money. (I say as I’ve got the 1975 AND Bastille concert lined up later this year).

P.S. We went to see Moonlight yesterday (finally) and it was AMAZING I hope it wins all the Oscars

Leave a Reply

