Tea-time: Social Media

Grab a warm cup of tea cause here we go fellas…

This subject is honestly ripped straight outta my academic essay writing course but…. I wrote that essay so I’m only plagiarizing myself. I’m not gonna sue me.

Disclaimer: One of the reasons I started this blog was because I wanted somewhere to rant about my personal opinions on thing so that’s exactly what I’m doing here.

I think there are two major problems with the present-day focus on social media. The first one being the unrealistic expectations on, especially, young people. Like hello, you ain’t gonna look like the people on instagram unless you’ve got an extra million lying around somewhere. To me, it seems like the problem even isn’t that people believe what they see on social media is the reality but the fact that they know it’s not real but they’re still willing to buy into it. What kind of fucked up shit?

Honestly though, the even greater issue, imo, is the echo chamber effect.

An echo chamber is a metaphorical description of a situation in which information, ideas, or beliefs are amplified or reinforced by communication and repetition inside a defined system. Inside a figurative echo chamber, official sources often go unquestioned and different or competing views are censored, disallowed, or otherwise underrepresented. -My trusty friend Wikipedia

Now, don’t get me wrong, it’s nice to connect with like-minded people on sites like tumblr etc. but man, when it becomes your only source of information, your world-view becomes narrow as hell. You don’t even learn to argue your points when everyone’s always agreeing with you, and more importantly, you’re missing the whole point of source criticism. It’s a common thing among kids these days that they don’t blindly believe EVERYTHING they read but once they’ve decided on the validness of a source, it’s hard to convince them otherwise. I have to confess, I’m also often guilty of echoing the opinions I’ve read on the internet and haven’t really double-checked the matter. I’m gonna continue working on defeating that habit.

That’s about it, I don’t wanna blabber on for too long. Thanks for reading and I’d like to hear your opinions on the matter!

Leave a Reply

